Meme Show

Carmina Correa

Watercolor on Paper

20″ x 30″

2017

CSULB School of Art, Werby Gallery

It was just another Monday morning, I woke up at 8:00 AM to turn off the alarm and slept for another 30 minutes. Then I woke up, wondering where all the time went, and rushed to the bathroom to freshen up before class. I then get dressed and check if I did all my homework for the classes that day. Like usual I did not finish everything and decide to do it later in the day. And I wonder why I feel like I have no time to do it, must be the teacher’s fault. I then leave my bedroom and just as I am about to leave, my grandma ask me to help her put on her shows like usual. It is the same problem every time with her, I put on her shows and she tells me next time she’ll get it by herself, every time. I swear when I am that old I am going to make everyone do stuff for me too. I then check the time and see that I only have 30 minutes to get to class. I knew I should have signed up for the afternoon classes. I hop into my car and speed off to school. No matter how fast I drive or how long I wait, the same light turns red right as I get there. I don’t believe in conspiracy theories, but I know someone is out there waiting for me to get there. I finally drive past the light and make my way to school. I see the clock showing 9:45. I knew I was doing well on time because my clock is always 3 minutes late. I never had much time to change it, as I had so much more important things to do like sleep in and play games. I was feeling great, this may be the one time I make it before the teacher does. But, like always, there is a god damn dog terrorizing the street and shooting lasers at everything that moves. I sigh to myself and take the long way around. I finally get to school and rush out of my car to get to class. But, no matter how fast I run I always get there last. So just like every other day, I get there 30 minutes into the lecture. Thanks Doge.

